1998/1999 Season

1st XV

The 1998/1999 season was one of the most successful in the club’s history when our junior team won their first Munster title, capturing the Third Division Munster Junior League title.

The following are the players that represented the club: Vincent O’Doherty (Capt), John Keating, Derek Johnson, Pat Bourke, Adrian Insley, Byron Power, Mike Browne, Barry Madden, Dermot Nix, George Magner, Mike Laffan, Kevin Lyons, Mike Doody, Conor Magner, Paddy O’Grady, Declan Murphy, Mike Scanlan, Donal Normoyle, Ronan Lyons, Mike Dore, Tom Ambrose, Brian Kelliher, Eoin O’Sullivan, Seamus Harrold, Seamus Flynn, DJ Fealy, Sam Lane, Seamus Kenny, Eoin Cahill, Jason Kelly, Diarmuid Heffernan, John Campbell, Tom Kelliher, Brendan Burke, Dave Dooley, Emmett Condon, Liam O’Connor, Pa McAuliffe, Diarmuid Geary, Joe Lee, Kevin O’Brien, Mike O’Flynn, Brian Murphy, Mike Kennedy, Dave Merthens.

FriendlyThomond 22 - 7 NCWMike Laffan try, John Keating conversion.
Transfield CupOld Crescent 19 - 17 NCWJ Keating try, con, P O'Grady try, B Power try.
McElligott CupNCW 20 - 3 TraleeJ Keating 2pen, 2con, P O'Grady try, M Doody try.
McElligott CupCastleisland 17 - 3 NCWJ Keating pen.
McElligott CupNCW 26 - 12 KillarneyJ Keating 2 try, 3 con, D Johnson try, A Inslet try.
LeagueNCW 49 - 0 PresentationTries: V O'Doherty (2), P Bourke, D Johnson, M Doody, K Lyons, A Insley, Byron Power. J Keating 3 con, pen.
LeagueNCW 29 - 5 Carrick on SuirM Browne try, 2 con, P Bourke try, C Magner try, P O'Grady try, M Scanlan drop goal, V O'Doherty con.
LeagueMuskerry 10 - 25 NCWM Browne try, pen, con, P O'Grady 2 tries, Mike Doody try.
LeagueNCW 17 - 6 NewportV O'Doherty 2 tries, E O'Sullivan try, M Browne con.
LeagueBallincollig 20 - 5 NCWM Doody try.
McElligott CupAbbeyfeale 18 - 13 NCWJ Keating 2 pen, con, C Magner try.
MJCCCDunmanway 13 - 20 NCWJ Keating pen, con, B Bourke try, A Insley try, L Herlihy try.
Garryowen CupNCW 0 - 30 Clanwilliam
MJCCCAbbeyfeale 21 - 16 NCWT Kelliher 3 pen, con, m Doody try.
LeagueNCW 18 - 8 KanturkT Kelliher 2 pen, con, M Laffan try, V O'Doherty try.
LeagueWaterford City 6 -21 NCWV O'Doherty try, 2 con, K O'Brien try, M Browne try, con.
LeagueMallow 5 - 26 NCWM Browne 2 con, V O'Doherty try, con, M Laffan try, P Bourke try, penalty try.
LeagueNCW 52 - 0 CharlevilleTries: E O'Sullivan (2), A Insley (2), M Scanlan, S Lane, M Browne, B Burke. V O'Doherty 3 con, 2 pen
LeagueGalbally 0 - 22 NCWM Browne try, pen, con, M Laffan try, V O'Doherty try, M Scanlan try.
LeagueDunmanway 3 - 13 NCWM Laffan try, Mike Brown pen, V O'Doherty pen, con.
Munster Junior CupNCW 10 - 9 St. MarysV O'Doherty con, pen, P O'Grady try.
Munster Junior CupKilfeacle 20 - 11 NCWE O'Sullivan try, T Kelliher 2 pen.


CHAMPIONS (OUR FINEST HOUR) – Sunday, 14th February 1999 – Match Report

Dunmanway       3
Newcastle West 13

On Sunday, 14th February, Newcastle West created history when we won our first Munster trophy, defeating Dunmanway to win the Lenihan Cup and become Munster League Division 3 champions. A huge crowd travelled from Arraside to cheer on the team.

Newcastle West had the advantage of a strong wind in the first half and were very slow to start as the ball was knocked on on a number of occasions. Mike Browne opened the scoring after 17 minutes when he converted a penalty. Five minutes later, Mike ‘man-mountain’ Laffan scored the game’s only try, after Brendan Burke broke from the base of a scrum, and from the resultant ruck Vincent O’Doherty passed to Mike, who charged through the Dunmanway defence from 25 yards to score under the posts. Vincent converted and he added a penalty with two minutes remaining. Dunmanway scored a penalty in injury time to leave the score 3 – 13 at the break.

There was no scoring in the second half with Newcastle West defending stoutly and never let Dunmanway near our line. When the final whistle went there was great scenes of rejoicing. Paddy O’Brien of the Munster Branch presented our captain Vincent O’Doherty with the trophy.
Man of the match was shared between Brendan Burke and Conor Magner.
Team; Mike Scanlan, Adrian Insley, Eoin Cahill, Pat Bourke, Eoin O’Sullivan, Mike Browne, Vincent O’Doherty (capt), Barry Madden, Dermot Nix, John Campbell, Mike Laffan, Kevin Lyons, Conor Magner, Mike Doody, Brendan Burke. Subs: Paddy O’Grady, Liam Herlihy, Dave Dooley, Sam Lane, Tom Kelliher, Byron Power, Declan Murphy, Diarmuid Heffernan, Dave Merthens and George Magner.

2nd XV

Our 2nd XV team played in the West Munster League and the following are some of the players that lined out that year: Seamus Harrold and Declan Murphy (joint captains), Sam Lane, Ronan Lyons, Jason Kelly, Seamus Kenny, Mike Mortell, DJ Fealy, Rob Moone, Eoin Cahill, Tim Mulcahy, Don Casey, Liam O’Connor, Diarmuid Heffernan, Conor Dooley, Dave Lucey, Mike Scanlan, Tom Ambrose, Byron Power, Emmett Condon, Eoin O’Sullivan, Mike Cussen, Declan Moloney, Mike Kennedy, Donal Normoyle, Donagh Barrow, Dave Dooley, George Magner, Tom Kelliher, Bernard O’Doherty, Niall O’Connor, Joe Healy, Liam Herlihy, Pa McAuliffe, Brian Murphy, Keith Brouder, Dave Merthens, Derek Johnson, John Keating, Pat Tobin, Barry Madden, Trevor Neville.

FriendlyCastleisland 13 - 7 NCWSam Lane try, Rob Moone con.
LeagueAbbeyfeale 3 - 10 NCWSam Lane try, Mike Scanlan con, pen.
LeagueNCW 8 - 22 TraleeEmmett Condon try, pen.
FriendlyMuskerry 21 - 13 NCWMike Cussen 2 pen, con, Declan Murphy try.
LeagueNCW 26 - 10 Corca DhuibhneM Scanlan 3 con, E Condon 2 try, S Lane try, T Kelliher try.
LeagueKillarney 11 - 5 NCWB Murphy try.
LeagueCastleisland 17 - 6 NCWP McAuliffe 2 pen.
LeagueNCW 3 - 31 AbbeyfealeM Cussen pen.
LeagueNCW 16 - 6 CastleislandJ Keating 2 pen, drop goal, con, M Cussen try.
O'Carroll CupNCW 7 - 17 St. MarysJason Kelly try, J Keating con.
Galway Foley CupNCW 24 - 19 ListowelT Neville try, B O'Doherty try, B Power try, L O'Connor try, J Keating 2 con.