2004/2005 Season

1st XV

In the 2004/2005 our junior team finished fourth in the Third Division of the Munster Junior League and reached the O’Sullivan Cup final.

1st XV Squad: The following players played with the junior team in the 2004/2005 season.
Barry Madden (capt), Dermot Nix, George Magner, Richard Wall, Sean Leahy, Karl Hayes, John Keating, Tony Kerr, Michael Rowsome, Derek Johnson, Sean Berkery, Josh Ruthland, Eoin Cahill, Rob Egan, Gerry Martin, Philip Wrenn, Rob Hayden, Matt Monahan, Rob Moone, Dave McCoy, Kevin Lyons, Trevor Sexton, Kieran O’Connell, Pat Boyce, PJ King, Adrian Insley, Vincent O’Doherty, Richard Langford, Byron Power, Declan Moloney, Dermot Kirby, Anthony O’Connor, Karl Hayes, Aidan Kelly, Brendan Flynn, Dermot Madigan, Kevin Madden, Richard Sheehy, Brian Quirke, Brian McAuliffe, Mike McMahon, Stephen Nix, Paudi O’Connor, Stephen Kelly, Kevin O’Donoghue, Colm Goode, Kieran Collins, Gary O’Doherty and Paddy Moloney.

FriendlyNCW 0 - 10 Castleisland
FriendlyPresentation 16 - 18 NCWG. Martin try, M. Rowsome try, J. Keating 2 pen and con.
Transfield CupNCW 3 - 27 GarryowenJ Keating pen.
FriendlyNenagh 34 - 17 NCWR. Moone try, B. Power try, R. Langford try, J. Keating con.
MJCCCSt. Mary's 24 - 25 NCWD Hayes 2 try, A Insley try, A Kelly try, J Keating con, pen.
MJCCCNCW 16 - 15 KanturkM Rowsome try, K Hayes try, J Keating 2 pen.
LeagueNCW 25 - 24 GalballyR Langford try, V O'Doherty try, G Martin try, J Keating 2 pen 2 con.
LeagueNewport 18 - 7 NCWV O'Doherty try, J Keating con.
MJCCCCobh Pirates 50 - 5 NCWR Langford try.
LeagueKilrush - WalkoverWalkover as Kilrush absent
FriendlyNCW 12 - 21 Young MunsterA Kelly try, P O'Connor try, V O'Doherty con.
LeagueNCW 6 - 5 KillarneyJ Keating 2 pen.
LeagueCarrick on Suir 20 - 27 NCWB Quirke try, K O'Connell try, K Lyons try, S Kelly try, J Keating 2 con, pen.
FriendlyNCW 19 - 26 CastleislandD Johnson try, B Flynn try, S Kelly try, J Keating 2 con.
LeagueNCW 88 - 3 DungarvenTries: S Kelly (4), A Insley (3), K Hayes, D Madigan, R Langford, B Quirke, P Wrenn. B Flynn con. J Keating try, pen, 9 cons.
LeagueDunmanway 0 - 46 NCWTries: S Kelly (2), K Hayes, A Insley, R Langford, E Cahill, P Wrenn. J Keating 4 cons, pen.
FriendlyAbbeyfeale 20 - 17 NCWB Quirke try, K Madden try, M Rowsome try, J Keating con.
LeagueNCW 37 - 7 KinsaleS Kelly 3 try, A Insley try, K Hayes try, E Cahill try, J Keating 2 con, pen.
Webb CupNCW 54 - 19 EnnisS Kelly 5 try, 9 con, A Insley try, M Rowsome try, B Quirke try.
LeagueDouglas 21 - 15 NCWD Hayes 2 try, J Keating pen, con.
Webb CupNCW 19 - 18 CashelK Madden try, A Insley try, M Rowsome try, D Hayes 2 con.
LeagueNCW 10 - 13 MallowB Flynn try, S Kelly con, pen.
FriendlyNCW 19 - 19 FinchleyG Martin 2 try, P Wren try, con, V O'Doherty con.
Webb CupNCW 12 - 27 ThurlesS Nix try, P Wrenn try, D Hayes con.
LeagueBallincollig 31 - 10 NCWR Langford try, E Cahill try.
LeaguePresentation 23 - 13 NCWK O'Connell try, K Madden try, D Hayes pen.
O'Sullivan CupMallow 40 - 24 NCWD Moloney try, A Insley try, P Wrenn try, Pen try, V O'Doherty 2 con.



At under age level, we won the North Munster Under 18 League, the Under 14 Cup, the Under 13 League and the Pat Lawlor Cup.

Under 18 Team Ends 52 Year DroughtNewcastle West 59
UL Bohemians    0

On Sunday, March 6th 2005, after a 52-year wait, Newcastle West Under 18 team put their name right up there with rugby greats Garryowen, Shannon and Young Munster by winning the North Munster League for the first time. En route to this title we tackled some of rugby’s big names, notably Thomond, Richmond and Young Munster and now add UL Bohs to that list.
This victory was a complete team effort, from numbers one to twenty. A magnificent running game saw tries from James O’Keeffe, Stephen O’Brien, Christy Berkery, James Ambrose, Shane Magner, Kieran Collins, Sean Nixon and Keith Madigan. This plethora of tries was topped off by a superb nine-out-of-nine kicking display from Conor Whelan. Dara O’Brien at the base of the scrum was inspired. Peter Murphy and Eamon Lane, while not on the score sheet, led by example as they have done all season. Padraig Devine had another towering display. Pat Hogan, Donal Egan, Sean Guinea, Liam Cremin, Colm Goode, Thomas Adams and Padraig Crowley also contributed immensely to this victory. It is also appropriate to mention Sean Herlihy, who was well in contention for player of the year. His county came knocking and he answered the call. The title would not have been secured without the huge input from coaches Liam Herlihy, Mike Lane and John Whelan.
Team: P. Murphy, J. O’Keeffe, C. Berkery, E. Lane, S.O’Brien, C.Whelan, D.O’Brien, P.Hogan, J. Ambrose, S. Magner, S. Guinea, K. Madigan, L. Cremin, P. Devine, C. Goode, S. Nixon, D. Egan, K. Collins, P. Crowley and T. Adams.

North Munster Under 14 Cup Final

Newcastle West 19
UL Bohemians   10

Newcastle West Under 14 team collected the North Munster Cup when they defeated UL Bohemians in Thomond Park on Sunday, 8th May 2005 before a big crowd. Newcastle Wast had the advantage of the strong wind in the first half, but were very slow to start and UL Bohs raced into a 10 – 0 lead with tries in the 14th and 22nd minutes. When Adrian Doyle kicked off after the second try, Donal P.O’Sullivan gathered the ball and drove towards the try line, ably assisted by all the forwards. The ball was recycled a number of times before Kieran McMahon scored under the posts, Adrian converted to leave the half time score 7 – 10.
Although playing against the wind we were well on top in the second half and took the lead when William Long brought most of the UL Bohs pack over the try line. Adrian again converted to put us 14 – 10 ahead. With ten minutes remaining, UL Bohs broke up the touch line and a try looked certain, but man of the match Donal P.O’Sullivan covered great ground and tackled the winger into touch, much to the relief of the Newcastle West supporters. We made sure of victory when Donal P. scored his second try – Tom McMahon gathered an Adrian Doyle cross kick to score in the corner to give us a well deserved win much to the delight of the coaching staff of Pat Tobin, Dermot Madigan and Gerard Normoyle.
The cheering could be heard in Newcastle West when David Shanahan mounted the famous steps to collect the cup. The following 28 players played their part in the famous victory.
David Shanahan (captain), Michael Culhane, Daniel Wilson, Damien Lynch, Sean Ahern, Kieran McMahon, Shemus McAuliffe, William Long, Donal C.O’Sullivan, Donal P.O’Sullivan, Ryan Nixon, Kennedy O’Brien, Richard Browne, Ronan Kelliher, Adrian Doyle, James McCarthy, Darren Normoyle, Keith Danaher, Chris Ryan, Tom McMahon, Roy Lathwell, David McGuire, Ronan Mulcahy, James Kelly, Conor Fanning, Donnacha O’Dea, Eoghan O’Connor, Brian O’Doherty.