Newcastlewest/Estuary become Under 16 North Munster League Champions.

Updated: May 12, 2016

Under 16 North Munster League Final

Newcastlewest/Estuary 17
Ennis RFC 7

Last Sunday afternoon the Final of The Under 16 North Munster League took place at UL Bohemian’s grounds in Annacotty .Referee Sean Moore was on hand to officiate, on what was to be a most exiting encounter between these keen rivals. Over the last number of seasons it has been nip and tuck affair between the pair. Whilst always hard and competitive the games were played in a clean and sportsmanlike manner.

Newcastlewest/Estuary were led out onto the field of play by Captain Adam Flanagan. Newcastlewest/Estuary kicked off through the boot of Stephen Lyons and competed from the off. Great pressure was applied by Newcastlewest/Estuary with carries by Killian Fitzgerald and Cormac Nash bringing play within their 22.Newcastlewest/Estuary were really dominant in the scrum and it was from this platform that a play started to see the opening points with a try from Cian Walsh. Charlie O’ Doherty added the points with a conversion.
Ennis came back hard but excellent defensive work by Luke Barrett and Ryan White helped to keep play around the mid-field area, until Ennis made a breakaway to see them over for a try, which they duly converted.
Newcastlewest/Estuary were very impressive in the line out. Captain Adam Flanagan communicated superbly with his Hooker Padraig Flavin and forwards both on our own ball and on theirs to take the majority of what was on offer.
Liam Molyneaux and David O’Donovan marshalled the wings very well in both attack and defense. Newcastlewest/Estuary were awarded a penalty just before half time that saw the score read 10 – 7 at the break.

Ennis were to be denied any further score as Micheal Murphy switched into the Number 8 position for Liam Mc Sweeney to come on and into the Centre partnership with William Cahill, and for Eamon Ambrose to fall back into the full-back position. With 10 minutes to go, Dylan Cahill, Emmett Wrenn and Tiernan Mason came off the bench to lend fresh legs during an intensive period of both defensive and attacking play.
It was to be another great score for the forwards as Padraig Flavin went over for a try with 4 minutes to go. Charlie O’ Doherty extended our lead by a further 2 points to seal the win.

It was a fantastic and justifiable win for this Team who were just getting over the disappointment of narrowly losing out to Waterpark in the Bank of Ireland Munster Quarter finals 2 weeks previously.

Squad : Cian Walsh, Padraig Flavin, Evan Donovan, Luke Barrett, Cormac Nash, Killian Fitzgerald, Ryan White, Adam Flanagan (Captain),Micheal Murphy, Eamon Ambrose, Ross Donovan, Conor Finucane, David Condon, Emmett Wrenn, Tiernan Mason, Liam Mc Sweeney, David O’Donovan, William Cahill, Dylan Cahill, Liam Molyneaux, Stephen Lyons, CharlieO’Doherty, Tom Murphy and Michael Mc Mahon.

Coaches : Vinny O’ Doherty, Philip Wrenn, Dave Flanagan, Tom Flavin, Mike Lyons, Bryan Mc Auliffe, Sean Corbett.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>